New Vehicle Compliance Program Enforces Personal Property Tax Laws

New Vehicle Compliance Program Enforces Personal Property Tax Laws

cars waiting at a red light

The Department of Finance, Division of Tax Administration wants to inform Prince William County residents of its new Vehicle Compliance program, which was approved by the Board of County Supervisors (BOCS) as part of the FY 2022 Budget adoption process, to enforce compliance of personal property tax laws as it pertains to vehicles.

The program provides Prince William County residents an effective channel to anonymously communicate with the Tax Administration office in reporting vehicle owners that do not display Virginia license plates but may be liable for personal property taxes.

Effective July 13, 2021, Prince William County imposes an annual $100 License Plate tax on owners of motor vehicles that do not display current Virginia license plates on their vehicle and a $250 penalty on owners who fail to register their vehicle in a timely manner.

Owner residents are required to title and register their vehicle with the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles within (30) days of purchase or move into Virginia and must register within (60) days with Prince William County’s Tax Administration office unless otherwise not required to register and display Virginia license plates due to certain exemptions such as:

  • Active duty and/or spouse may qualify for an exemption.
  • Non-resident students enrolled full-time in an accredited Virginia-based college or university may be eligible for an exemption if personal property taxes are being paid in the state of registration.
  • Short-term visitors visiting for (30) days or less.

Prince William County encourages all non-exempt vehicle owners without a current Virginia license plate to become compliant by obtaining a Virginia registration, or contacting the Tax Administration office with questions as soon as possible, but no later than September 13, 2021. After this date, a $100 vehicle license fee and $250 penalty will be assessed on all non-exempt vehicle owners that continue to display out-of-state license plates.

For more information or to report a vehicle, go to or contact the Tax Administration office by email at or by phone at 703-792-6710. [Please note, due to certain Code of Virginia confidentiality restrictions, the Tax Administration office may not be able to provide disposition feedback to the reporter of potential non-compliant vehicle information].